A calculated and prudent effort in the saddle yesterday saw veteran cyclist Greg Downie (Independent) capture the overall honours when the Barbados Cycling Union hosted its final road race of the year on a fast-paced stretch of the ABC Highway.

Thirty riders, including national road race champion Darren Matthews (Team G4S Swift), came under starters orders for the hour-long race which was contested between the Sir Garfield Sobers Roundabout and the Errol Barrow Roundabout.

Riding under bright skies, a cool breeze and on bone-dry pavement, the early pacemaking was done by rookie Jesse Kelly of Team G4S Swift.

Turing the pedals without fear, Kelly led by as much as a minute before the ‘lazy’ pace of the peloton retrieved him in the closing stages of the race.

Riding unattached in the Senior division, Downie kept a low profile in the main bunch as Matthews and Jamol Eastmond increased the tempo off the front.

With all eyes on the national champion, Downie seized his moment with one lap to go and jumped away from the ‘sleeping’ bunch, with only Reginald Jones in toe.

Once the pair broke free, Downie used the gradient of the road to his advantage and attacked on the last climb. His act of aggression proved to be successful and he returned to the line well clear of Jones, the eventual winner of the Master’s division.

“Everyone was waiting to see what Matthews was going to do, so I jumped away,” said Downie, who had an outstanding showing at this year’s Huntsman World Senior Games in St. George, Utah capturing four medals – two gold and two silver.

Eastmond out-sprinted Matthews to the line for second place amongst the Senior riders.

Amongst the Juniors, Russell Elcock (Team G4S Swift) was followed to the line by Jesse Kelly and Kristin Vanderpool.

In the Master’s division, Sedwin Jones secured the second spot on the podium ahead of Andrew Quimbly.

In the Over-50 division, John Proverbs emerged victorious over Ronald Harding, another medalist at the 2011 Huntsman World Senior Games. Harding copped three medals – two silver and one bronze.

Leonard Puckerin won an uncontested Cat4 division, while Liam Lovell claimed the overall honours in the Juvenile division ahead of Josh Kelly.

Ajani Miller won the Tinymites division ahead of Tremaine Forde-Catwell and Jacob Kelly.

(Source http://www.barbadosadvocate.com/newsitem.asp?more=sports&NewsID=20794)